Fish ‘n’ Purple Chips

More often than not, my recipes happen by default.  They come with little planning, a lot of imagination, and whatever I can find in the fridge.  This dish was built around some funky looking purple potatoes I found at the Cambridge Valley Farmers Market, and not wanting to cook dinner on Sunday.

Haddock was on Sunday night’s menu, we instead decided it was too hot to cook and picked at a plate fresh farmers market finds. And then it came, MONDAY.  I needed a little bit of excitement in my life after a long work day and broiled fish with veggies wasn’t going to cut it. . .

So I find myself with these purple potatoes, some haddock, a bag of coleslaw mix … DING DING DING, fish ‘n chips it is!

FullSizeRender (8)

Frying always makes me a little nervous, it’s not really a method of cooking I use very often.  However, I will admit fish and potatoes are probably two of the easiest things you can make for even the most novice of fryers.  For the potato chips you simply slice them as thin as possible, and throw them in the hot oil until they are crisp!

FullSizeRender (10)

So my boyfriend, Jake (not from State Farm), likes to order fish tacos whenever he sees them on a menu. Therefore, I taught myself how to fry up some fish! Come to find it’s pretty simple. I am not one for following recipes or measuring, but I will tell you how I make my batter and you can take it from there. I put two large scoops of flour ( I’d estimate about 2 cups ) into a bowl, add two heaping tablespoons of baking powder. Then, add liquid (beer or water) until I meet my desired consistency. Thinned out but still slightly thick, enough to coat and stick to your fish.  Dip in your filets, shake off the excess batter, and drop them into the hot oil. Cook until golden brown, and season hot out of the oil (seasoned salt and/or old bay), finish with a spritz of fresh lemon.

FullSizeRender (9)

 

FullSizeRender (11)

Serve with cole slaw, tarter sauce, cocktail sauce, lemons and a glass of cold wine!

 

 

Leave a Reply

