What I Eat

FullSizeRender (1)
Now, I know what you all are thinking, “Does she eat the food she blogs about every single day?!” The answer is no. I always eat everything I blog, but not everyday.  I typically stick to a plant based diet throughout the week. Our bodies were born in nature and need to be fed things the come from the earth, not processed junk.

I find that people think eating a plant based diet is tasteless and leaves them feeling unsatisfied, when in fact it can be the complete opposite. Plants are filled with all kinds of nutrients that keep you energized and make you glow from the inside out.  All you need is a little creativity in the kitchen, so, I’m here to help you out!

When I have time in the morning I make myself a juice.  Juices and ginger shots can really make you feel incredible.  You can make any combination you want but I stick with a green juice with cucumber, green apple, spinach, kale, celery, lime and ginger.  Or, I make a beautiful magenta juice with beets, carrots, ginger, lemon, and orange.

I also love to play with my food and create different flavors as I move along through my meal.   I am NOT a routine person which is a curse for adulting but a blessing in the culinary world.  I find it really hard to eat the same thing every day.. as I think most humans do, thats why I think strict diets do not work.

This is whole wheat toast with hummus and red pepper flakes,  beet hummus, goat cheese with honey, kale, heirloom spinach, and lemon.

cutting boardThis is a french omelet filled with fine diced onion and peppers then topped with parsley and thyme aside some simple smashed avocado. In the pint size mason jar, I segmented in some juicy oranges and grapefruit, the perfect cleanser!

FullSizeRender (2)

These are veggies nachos that I had for a snack. I simply sauteed a bunch of veggies I had in the fridge in some olive oil!  I used shredded cabbage, swiss chard, mushrooms, and snow peas.  Then topped the chips and sauteed veggies with fresh, thinly sliced radishes, chopped green onion, dried cranberries, hot sauce, sour cream, and segments of lime.  IMG_0550 IMG_0547

This is Jaime Oliver’s whole roasted cauliflower, which can be found here: http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/vegetables-recipes/whole-roasted-cauliflower/.  He is a huge fan of #meatlessmondays. I highly recommend this side dish! FullSizeRender (2)

I will admit, I have always been very skeptical of any sort of vegetable based burger, until I tried this Black Bean Burger from The Green Radish.  It was simply an explosion of flavor. The black bean patty was unctuous, the onions melty, the jalapeno cream extremely spicy, and the avocado perfect as always!

The Green Radish is an organic vegan food truck that creates magic. Check them out here: http://www.thegreenradish.com/. IMG_0627

I couldn’t stop thinking about this black bean burger so I decided to make my own!  I bought a can of organic black beans (drained and rinsed) then mashed with a fork very roughly.  Then, I added an egg, bread crumbs, minced garlic, and diced onion. I shaped the mixture into patty and pan fried it in olive oil until golden brown.  Finally, I smeared the bottom of a whole wheat roll with avocado, put on the black bean patty, and topped it all with green apple and carrot slaw.  Bean Burger

Veggie tacos!! These are so much fun. Simply dice up sweet potato and carrots then roast on a high heat of 450 degrees in some light oil until perfectly brown. Toast a corn tortilla then fill it with your roasted veggies, fresh greens, and any sort of cheese! Here, I used kale, spinach, goat cheese, and hot sauce!IMG_0390

This is an avocado dressing, which my family and I ended up devouring as a bread dip.  Throw and avocado into the food processor with the juice of half a lemon, salt and pepper.  Pulse the mixture a few times and then let it all combine together while drizzling in good extra virgin olive oil.  It should be creamy and bright, in both color and taste!

IMG_0587

Shrimp scampi is always a crowd pleaser.  It is incredibly easy to make, you just need to cook the pasta to the tooth and use the freshest possible ingredients.  Marinate peeled and clean shrimp in olive oil, lemon, garlic and old bay seasoning for about 10 minutes.  Then, gently saute the shrimp and marinade in 3 pads of butter about 3-4 minutes on each side.  Add in some reserved starchy cooking water from the pasta to make a sauce, then, toss in your al dente pasta. Top with fresh chopped Italian parsley and cracked pepper! We also had sauteed spinach with portabella mushrooms and  a crispy green side salad filled with romaine and chicory greens. It was a huge hit!
FullSizeRender (1)

Leave a Reply

