Dip Dip, Hooray!

On Saturday night, the girls and I decided to devour a spread that consisted of an array of dips including, guacamole, chili cheese dip and chicken wing dip.

IMG_0425

I will begin first by blaming Erica and Liv for the destruction of our queso blanco. This was supposed to be included in the spread but they decided chasers for vodka were more important than milk for our queso. I advise you all to never substitute water for milk.

IMG_0482

Anyway, lets begin with the basics. You must always have sour cream, guacamole, salsa and ______ (insert queso here).

IMG_0394

To save time, I grabbed the sour cream and salsa at the market however, I highly recommend that you always make your guac fresh to order. Here’s how I did it.

IMG_0471

Guac

2 ripe avocados

1 tbsp finely minced onion

1/2 half freshly squeezed lime

Halve your avocados, dispose of the pit, and scoop the greens into a bowl. Next add your finely minced onion, fresh squeezed lime, salt and pepper to taste.  Mash it all together, and there you have it, perfect guac.

IMG_0444

Now of course there are plenty of other ways to jazz up guac, but with this spread I decided to keep it fresh and simple.  You may also want to try adding tomatoes, pickled jalapenos, or pomegranate seeds. Also, one surprisingly delicious addition to guacamole is feta cheese (thank you, Mrs. Zerio).

Note: don’t forget the cilantro! Unfortunately, I despise the stuff.

Onto the baked goods.  Lets begin with the chili cheese dip,  it’s a simple three ingredient fix that will always keep your guests swooping in for more.

IMG_0397

Chili Cheese Dip

1 brick of softened cream cheese

1 can of Hormel no bean chili

2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Begin by spreading the softened creamed cheese onto the bottom of a baking dish. Next pour in the chili and top it with cheese, couldn’t be easier! Now, I never use a timer but I would say this takes about 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit, or, until bubbly and beginning to brown.  I put dollops of sour cream on top of ours.

IMG_0428

The tangy and cool sour cream pairs perfectly with the molten hot chili cheese.

IMG_0416

Now for the buffalo chicken wing dip.  The long debated question here is, “ranch or blue cheese?” I am a huge lover of blue cheese, the stinkier the better.  However, for this dip I am a ranch girl all the way, and I think I have convinced my friends as well.  I believe blue cheese should be respected and maybe smeared on a baguette, not mixed with cream cheese, cheddar, and hot sauce!

Buffalo Chicken Wing Dip 

1 brick of softened cream cheese

1 cup of ranch dressing

1 cup of shredded chicken

1/2 cup of Franks Red Hot

2 cups of sharp  shredded cheddar cheese

This is my sister Megan’s recipe and no one can make it better than her. When I asked her for the recipe she gave me a list of the ingredients and said “whatever tastes good”.

Here are my results.  Combine softened cream cheese, ranch dressing, hot sauce (Frank’s, always), and 1 cup of cheddar cheese.  Pour into baking dish then top with the remainder of cheese.  Pop the dip into a 350 degree oven for about 25-30 minutes. Again, I don’t ever use a kitchen timer, so until it looks like you will completely scorch your mouth when you dive into it.

Crunchy carrots and celery sticks are an excellent vessel for the chicken wing dip. You might even consider yourself healthy while eating it.

IMG_0418

IMG_0431

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Cathy Carter says:

    Looking forward to trying the recipes for the dips…welcome back

Leave a Reply

